Is It Fall Already?!

Great Day to You, Friday Fun Facters!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Special Announcements:

RIP: Jane Scott. Here’s to your writing legacy & a life of Rock N’ Roll. May we all be so blessed…

http://www.cleveland.com/popmusic/index.ssf/2011/07/jane_scott_legendary_plain_dea.html

RIP II: To the family of Shannon Stone who died reaching for a fall ball thrown to him by Josh Hamilton. A tragic day for a family, and for baseball.

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/blog/big_league_stew/post/Man-dies-after-falling-out-of-stands-at-Rangers-?urn=mlb-wp11900

End Of An Era: Today was the final Shuttle Launch for the NASA program. Enjoy the ride, Atlantis!

http://news.yahoo.com/shuttle-lifts-off-last-time-light-fire-164311611.html

To Your Goals & Dreams: Be like Travis Hafner in last night’s Cleveland Indians baseball game – close your eyes and swing away. You never know what may happen. A truly poetic moment…

http://www.cleveland.com/tribe/index.ssf/2011/07/travis_hafners_grand_slam_caps.html

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Recently, I bought a couple of dress shirt & tie combos at the local hunt & peck department store. This isn’t out of the norm for me. I do this on a semi-regular time frame to update & refresh my business wardrobe. I managed to buy a couple of different combinations, however, that are a little different for me – just to provide a little variety.

Pale Orange with a blue-striped tie.

Pale Yellow with a diamond design tie.

I brought the shirts home & put them down for a couple of days, knowing I’d eventually try them on and give them their first hot tub soak in the washer (complete with all of the luxurious amenities a shirt could ask for – water & soap) before their respective individual debut in the business world. Eventually, I threw them on to make sure they fit as well as they possibly could on me. Of course, this is after I’ve opened up the shirt box – hermetically sealed with better glue than what’s used on the space shuttle; taken out every pin until I find the one that stabs me; and with the latest cost-saving techniques used by manufacturers now, cut all of the little plastic ties that are used in place of pins in strategic places on the shirt. I’ve also managed to figure out how to pull the tie off that is attached with a rubber band that has forever-altered the shape of the tie. (Special Note I: This process runs a VERY close second place to attempting to take the security tape off of a compact disc.) Yep – buttons work, neck is still the same size, not too tight; all great indicators that I haven’t turned into a fat you-know-what over night! It’s one of those scientific metrics that I monitor.

As I try on the pale orange shirt, I flip the box over to find out I’m off on the defined color description:

Orange Crème

Got it. OK, I can deal with that. I’ll never look at the shirt as “orange crème,” but if that’s what suits the fashion world on a boxed shirt & tie combo to make everyone feel more accomplished at the discount fashion warehouse, so be it. Enjoy the spoils of your efforts.

Shirt Two. Alright, I picked up the same size shirt box, and miraculously it fits just as good. (Special Note II: Ever go shopping & buy two of the same exact thing, yet they fit differently?! It’s happened to me. Yes, I was born under that sign.). I turn the box over, to deposit all of the accessory schnibbles, I see the defined color description as defined by the fashion world:

Sweet Corn

Are you kidding me?! Really?! Who, may I ask, at the fashion command center picked this one off the stalk?! Is it fall already?!

See, I associate sweet corn with fall cookouts, football, & dental floss. Not my work shirts…

A quick check of the internet today tells me my sweet corn harvest timing is slightly askew. Sweet corn is available starting in the neighborhood of July 1, just in time for Independence Day, and rounding out in late September or early October, at the time of the first frost.

http://www.uri.edu/ce/factsheets/sheets/corn.html

So, does this mean there is a limited annual time frame in which I can wear this shirt to work? Will others be whispering by the water cooler – “What is he doing wearing that sweet corn-colored shirt in winter?”

I digress. Back to our original program.

Look, it’s not ever going to be “Sweet Corn” in color to me. No offense to our female readership, but I’m a dude, and in the case of color identification, normal dude profiling applies. There are six or seven colors in the rainbow (Special Note III: Our resident artists – EddieK, RobS, and BrotherDavid, are right now counting the letters in the ROYGBIV spectrum!); colors are defined in their normal terms – blue, red, green, YELLOW, purple, and so on; with varieties described as “light” or “dark.”

This applies to clothes, cars, hair, art, and yes ladies, even home decorating.

You’re not ever going to hear me say, “Yep, need head out for some new work clothes. I’m searching for a mauve or taupe dress shirt. It’s off-red or light brown.

(Special Note IV: CarolineH & KelleyGo are currently responding to correct my color shade categories, while CindyC is rolling her eyes.)

What’s next – frozen snap pea?! Fresh lilly?! Fried chicken?! Dog stuff?! Wait. I think we already have that one; it’s called… uh, never mind, I think you get the picture.

The closest I’ll ever come to this is some paint I bought when I first moved into my house – swamp willow. Now THAT’S a dude color. It tells you everything you need to know.

Now, where are my celadon socks?
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Tunes of the Week:

Yellow Submarine – The Beatles

The Yellow And Black Attack – Stryper

Yellow – Coldplay

Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree – Tony Orlando and Dawn

Big Yellow Taxi – Counting Crows

Mellow Yellow – Donovan

Yellow Ledbetter – Pearl Jam

Yellow Rose of Texas – Johnny Cash

Don’t Eat Yellow Snow – Frank Zappa

Oh, Yeah! – Yello

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Raise A Golden Yellow Glass!

May Your Friday Be Followed By A Colorful Saturday!

D

P.S. Are you hungry yet?!

RealizarSus Ambiciones

Published in: on 13Julpm1111 at 4:30 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fridayfunfact.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/is-it-fall-already/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is an interesting looking beer. We need to find some!

  2. Funny, just yesterday at work discussing someone’s nail polish as being purple. I was told it was a mauve or lilac? Are not those shades of the base color purple? Of which this corrects D’s shade of light red… really more a cross of red and purple. 🙂

    To Chris…. is it the fact that it is beer in box much like the box wines out there?


Leave a Reply

